I am obsessed with Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour range. I have their body butter, the lip balm, the eye cream, and of course, the original Eight Hour cream. Their award winning cream is popular worldwide. The formula was created in the early 1980s by Ms. Arden herself. Also dubbed “The Miracle Cream”, it is a favourite among beauty editors and make-up artists globally.

My favourite benefit of the cream has to be it’s multipurpose uses. It’s intense moisturising qualities make it my go to cream for many reasons. Here are my top 7 reasons why I love it.

BT_ElizabethArden_8HC_9094_200815

1. Sun Burn

The summer is here in Ireland and it seems to be sticking! It’s an absolute scorcher this, which is leading to us poor pale Irish folk to rocking nasty red burns. Ouch! Aloe vera does the job for some severe burns, but I don’t like the slippery feel of aloe vera cream on my face. Instead, I use the Eight Hour Cream to heal my sunburn. It’s thick consistency stops it from sliding around my face and stays put, even when I go to sleep. When I wake up, not only is my sunburn much improved, but my face is as soft as kittens. It’s also great on curling iron and cooking burns!

2. Cracked Noses

Is there anything more painful than a cracked nose during a cold? For years, I looked for various solutions to fix my sniffly damaged nose. Nothing seemed to work, until my mum bought Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream. This was my first time using it, aged about 14 years old. I’ve never looked back since! Take just a dab of the cream, rub it in well to the cracked areas of you nose, and BOOM. The next morning, expect your nose to be smooth and ready to brace the cold winds again. It’s a cream for every season!

3. After Fake Tan

I love tanning, but what I dislike the most is how drying fake tan can be. Rule of thumb is to not moisturise until after 24 hours of applying the tan, which for me is an impossible wait. Whenever I tan before, my skin gets super dry as soon as I wash it off the following morning. I have to hold out until the end of the evening when I can finally lash on the body butter, but I always put on a bit of the original stuff to sort out my elbows and knees as they get the driest.

8ab487e3faeae059adbacc5272e8e2a2

4. On Lips

Often, I hear my friends complain about lipstick coming off too easy and then drying out their lips. Lipsticks and lip paints like Kat Von D’s Tattoo Lipstick can last long but can also be incredibly drying. This causes the skin on your lips to flake off and become bitty as you take off the lipstick. The best way to prevent this damage is to put on just a small dab of the famous Eight Hour Cream about two hours before you apply your make-up. Personally, I use the lip balm from the range at least twice a day to keep my lips soft and never have to use any other lip balms. I apply once before I head off to work, and once again before bed. That’s 12 hour power!

5. Cracked heels

I used to be so embarrassed to show off my feet because of how awful my feet were. I would be receiving a pedicure and glow red, mortified by my flakey, chapped heels. One night, through experimentation, I decided to rub in a little bit of the Eight Hour Cream. I noticed the next day a vast improvement. Forget Scholl, it’s useless compared to this stuff!

6. On Eyelashes

Everyone wants that Beyoncé “I woke up like this” look that is, honestly, totally unrealistic. No one just wakes up looking like Beyoncé! Beyoncé doesn’t wake up looking like Beyoncé. A super simple trick to elongate your lashes and make them richer looking is to put a teeny tiny bit of the cream on the end of a cotton bud/Q-tip or even your fingers. Treat it like a mascara wand; just go up and down the lashes with the cream just a few times. Your lashes now have a shiny look to them, which is a trick used by many to open the eye and fake that fresh faced look. Not only that, but it also moisuturises the eyelashes. Super handy for those make-up-free days!

7. On Brows

This is a great tip for those who are finding their eyebrows a little lack lustre. I love doing this when I see my eyebrow tint begin to fade. It not only holds onto the colour longer, but conditions and moisturises my eyebrows. Just like your lashes, you’ve got to take care of your brows! And bold brows are STILL very trendy with no sign of leaving. So be sure to treat them well!

 

It’s so important to take care of your skin, especially if you’re a fan of make-up. Your skin is literally the base of your makeup, for foundation and fake tan. If you want to keep your skin looking fresh and fantastic, invest in good skincare! You can snap up the original cream from Arnotts for just €34, where they stock the whole Elizabeth Arden Eight Hour Range.

One thought on “7 Uses for Elizabth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream

Leave a Reply

