When I started this blog, I planned for it to be a beauty blog with a cosplay twist. Yet, it’s been almost TWO MONTHS since my last cosplay post. I’ve been slacking! So I’m glad to share with you my super easy fake blood recipe.

I learned this when I was a kid, a recipe my mom would make with me every Halloween ’cause it was necessary that every costume had a bit of blood in it. Vampire is pretty obvious, but I was a bloody cat, a bloody witch, a bloody princess; name it and I added blood to it. Homes I went trick or treating to probably thought I was a little weird, but every kid LOVED being messy right? What better fun than to be messy on Halloween? And I think blood is easier to clean up than a mummy leaving toilet paper everywhere!

One of the most important features of a good fake blood recipe, to me, is that it’s safe enough to ingest. For instance, if you choose to do a Chelsea smile look, you don’t want any toxic chemicals going inside your mouth. Fake blood can be bought in almost any costume or special FX shop, but I would rather use those types of products on my hands or neck. If you’re careful, you can totally apply them to the top of your nose, your forehead or cheeks. Also, ALWAYS keep fake blood away from your eyes and nostrils.Β Trust me, it won’t be a good time.

2016-06-05 18.17.42

Ingredients

50 mls water

150 grams powder sugar

2 teaspoons red food colouring

Small handful coffee beans or 3 teaspoons coffee grounds

4 to 6 teaspoons corn flour

You’re best to use a blender like a Nutri Bullet to mix the ingredients. Have two teaspoons on hand to measure, one for the dry ingredients and one for the food colouring.

2016-06-05 18.05.44

First, mix the water and sugar together and, if you can, shake the mixture or stir until it’s all combined.Β Blend the mixture in small bursts so it’s thoroughly combined, then add inΒ the red food colouring. Then blitz it all together.

2016-06-05 18.07.57

If you have a coffee grinder, grind up them beans and throw them into the blood. This ‘ll darken it and make a gritty texture so it looks like bits of dried blood. Most Starbucks have free coffee grounds for customers to use in their garden, so pop in and ask!

2016-06-05 18.22.38

Finally, mix in the corn flour. Feel free to add more to make it thicker and even some cocoa powder to make it darker and thicker. It’s all about experimentation!

This recipe is the best for a simple vampire look, but I will be writing a few thicker though less tasty recipes for fake blood! To apply this one, grab a cotton bud/Q tip and dip it in the mixture. If you want to wear it at a party, I advise either adding in heaps more cornstarch and sugar so that it sticks and stays longer. You’d definitely need to bring it in a little tub to reapply.

Leave a Reply

