It’s incredibly important to keep your body and you in good shape. ย How you are on the inside reflects how you look on the outside. I’ve talked about how much yoga has helped me remain calmย during the day to day stresses, but a little pampering goes a long way too. Even secret pampers.

One of these secret pampers is scent. Scent is a huge factor in how we interpret life around us; the smell of your favourite dish, fresh cut grass in summer, the aroma of cologne or perfume. They lift our moods up.

2016-05-15 11.45.13

During the day, I love to use L’Occitane’sย Shea Delightful Rose Hand Cream. The rich cream is one of the best out there, because of the high quality shea butter used. Shea butter is extremely nourishing and protects not only our skin but can be used in shampoos and conditioners to protect hair. What I love most about shea butter is that it is extremely moisturising and not sticky. It does soak in fast but unlike most fast drying creams, you won’t be reapplying it half an hour later. The floral scent is reminiscent of a rose flower, but mostly it reminds me of wandering around a garden centre as a kid. Scent can be that powerful, bringing you back to places you forgot you knew.

At night, after I take care of my skin and all my other nightly rituals, I take out L’Occitane’s Lavender Relaxing Roll-On. Lavender is well known for being one of the most relaxing scents out there, used commonly in aromatherapy. For me, this little bottle of heaven has seriously helped me. I couldn’t remember my last good nights sleep before investing in this roll-on. I would try every trick in the book, from counting sheep to acupuncture. I’ll admit, acupuncture did help best, but that’s another post. When I heard about how great lavender was in relaxation, I bought a lavender candle. I’d light it in my room before jumping into bed, but having asthma and worrying about the house burning down meant I still didn’t get a good nights sleep. Only in the last six months did I discover how much L’Occitane had in their lavender range that could help me. Most of all, the roll-on. Now every time before bed, I roll on a bit on my temples, the nape of my neck, and on my wrists. Safe to say, I sleep like a baby.

If you suffer from insomnia or other sleep related disorders, definitely look at a few simple herbal remedies. I don’t recommend putting anything into your body, especially your ears (I’ve seen some messed up remedies involving your ears), but essential oils and even changing your diet can help. If you’re seriously struggling, go see your doctor. Sleep is vital to staying healthy and happy. Take care of yourself!

 

Leave a Reply

