One of my favourite pick-me-ups is buying myself a little treat – if it’s a candle from Dunnes Stores or a new Lipstick from MAC, that something new brightens my day and my mood. However, there are some things that you really need to consider before splurging on a new coat or pair of shoes.

When thinking about a luxury piece, such as a designer good or high-price item, you really need to ask yourself, “Is this luxury necessary?” In world when influencers are promoting everything from pens to penthouses, we are constantly bombarded with things nearly every hour of the day. Personally, I screenshot clothes or household pieces at least three times in a day from Instagram alone – I always think that I’ll find somewhere for it in my growing collection of shite. But more often than not I don’t actually go out and even sample anything unless a strong review is posted, especially when it comes to beauty products.

Having worked in luxury retail, I’m a bit more cautious about what I buy because I’m familiar with almost every reason to buy something and every reason why not to buy something. When shopping, I ask myself a variety of questions but there are three that I always ask myself before buying – I call them the trusty three.

cash

1. Can I afford this? Most people have budgets – you have to factor in your basics (food, fake tan if you’re me) and then a few little bits that you may need (make-up, hair spray, tampons apparently). At the end of the week’s budget, you might see that you’ve a bit of extra cash left over. For me, I either spend this on a tasty spicebag or save for a future splurge I haven’t yet planned, like a holiday or something designer. So when I find a delicious top in the Last Chance To Shop rail, high street or luxury, I stop and think, “First of all, do I have the cash to spare?” If I do, I try it on and see how it looks.

clothes

2. Can I see myself wearing this again? This is something that really makes or breaks a purchase for me. Sure, the dress may make you look fab in the fitting room mirror and it goes great with your casual look – but can you wear it on a night out? Is it versatile? And most importantly of all, does it suit more than at least two outfits? If your answers are yes, then you need to think about the really important question…

makeup-brushes

3. Do I really need this? When I first started working and didn’t have any worries about rent, bills or savings, I would literally shop until I dropped (tight shoes are not making for shopping.) Because of this, I’ve had to give so many unworn pieces to charity shops and some I sold on Depop – the amount that still had tags on them shock me, how wasteful! Now, I’ve learned my lesson. I’m a sucker for a black tank top and generally stock up when in Penneys because I use them so much – but when I have four in my wardrobe already and they’re available all year, do I really need to buy another four? Truth be told, I do end up buying one (they’re €2.50, can’t go wrong) but it’s a totally different story when I’m buying luxury items. While scouting the higher-priced goods, like a winter coat or a leather wallet, this is when this question really matters. Like most women, I have a thing for bags – so when I’m faced with a Marc Jacobs bag that’s the exact same as another bag I have, I almost always say to myself, “You don’t need this.” And just like that, I can afford 35 spicebags.

Leave a Reply

